HP Mini 1000 and Bluetooth

In case someone else runs into this issue, I thought I would post the fix here.

After installing the Windows 7 Beta I discovered Bluetooth wasn’t working on the HP Mini 1000 anymore.  There was no option to enable it and there was no Bluetooth adapter listed in Device Manager.

I went to the HP site and downloaded the Bluetooth drivers, but that still didn’t accomplish anything.  The drivers would install, but clicking on the Bluetooth icon would result in an error message saying no Bluetooth was installed.

I realized that I had disabled Bluetooth to save battery life when I still had XP Home installed on the Mini.

In order to fix this:

  • Install the Bluetooth drivers from the CD or from the HP site.
  • Install “HP Wireless Assistant”from the CD that came with your computer (or try to find it online, I couldn’t find it on the HP site)
  • Reboot the computer
  • Run the Wireless Assistant
  • In “Properties” – enable “Independent controls for installed wireless devices”
  • Turn on Bluetooth – if you get an error, go to Window’s Device Manager and scan for hardware changes, then Reboot the computer and try to “turn on Bluetooth” again

After that you should be good to go!

(Written on HP Mini 1000 with a wireless bluetooth mouse that forced me to fix bluetooth)

See my original post on the HP Mini 1000 and Windows 7

Digg This

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on March 25, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I have the hp mini 1000 and hp keeps telling me i need an adapter. I want to make sure this is a sure fire way to get the bluetooth fixed before i proceed, i am not computer savy. I am smart enough to think that the software is on the machine and hp doesn’t know about thier own stuff. The people I keep getting keep putting me on hold and asking someone else. I am now waiting for supervisor to call me. UUUGGGGHHH

    Reply

  2. Posted by Avi on June 11, 2009 at 2:05 am

    Is the VGA out working now with the RC installed?

    Reply

Leave a comment