HP Mini 1000 & Windows 7

I’ve had the HP Mini 1000 netbook for a month now and have been happy with it as a lightweight portable machine.

The out-of-the-box specs of the machine I have are:

  • 1.6 ghz Intel Atom processor
  • 1 gigabyte of memory
  • 60 gigabyte hard drive
  • 10.2 inch display
  • Windows XP Home

The machine ran great using XP Home – however I’m used to running Windows Vista (I know – a collective gasp from folks out there cursing Vista… I honestly like it and feel that if you have the right hardware, Vista is definitely a worthy upgrade to XP) and wanted a few of the features in Vista that are missing from XP Home.  Especially remote desktop.  While the 10.2 inch display is comfortable enough to use when I’m mobile, at home I like being able to remote desktop into the laptop so that I can utilize a larger monitor and ergonomic keyboard.

I decided to test out the Windows 7 Beta and see how it runs on the HP Mini 1000.  I did a clean install of Win7 (formatted the HP and installed Win 7 off a USB thumbdrive).  The installation finished in about 20 minutes, no issues.  Very positive start!

3243832936_c073e9c789[1]

The only functionality I have lost, which I assume is a missing driver, is the HP Mini 1000’s special vertical scrollbar feature that is part of its trackpad.  Actually I feel this is a blessing as I wasn’t used to the feature, and when I was swiping my finger across the trackpad mouse, I would end up making the screen look like it was having epileptic fits.

Here are the Windows Experience Index scores for Windows 7 Beta on the HP Mini 1000:

Processor: 2.2
Memory (RAM): 4.4
Graphics: 2.2
Gaming graphics: 3.0
Primary hard disk: 2.9

While I won’t be playing any first-person shooters on this machine, it is running fine for e-mail, web browsing, and general productivity activities.  The applications I’m regularly running (simultaneously) on the machine are:

Office 2007 (primarily Outlook), Office Communicator, Internet Explorer 8, Windows Live Messenger, Live Writer, Live Mesh

On first load after a start-up, Outlook will be sluggish, but after a couple minutes (perhaps once things are loaded into memory or cached?) it performs reasonably.  If you use additional memory (USB thumbdrive, SD card, etc.) for ReadyBoost that helps.  I’ve got a 4 gb USB key being used for ReadyBoost, and when that is plugged in toggling between applications takes less than 1 second.  Without the ReadyBoost, toggling between Outlook and IE may take 3 or 4 seconds.

As a test I took it to work with me and used it as my main machine.  No issues. Walked all around Raffles Place with it in my bag and the lighter weight of it is great.

The best feature… compared to my work laptop (which is a Macbook Pro running Vista 64-bit via Boot Camp) is that the Sleep functions properly.  I close the lid of the HP Mini 1000, it goes to sleep, and when I open it hours later, it spins up and everything resumes as normal. When I attempt to use Sleep on my Macbook Pro, 75% of the time it hangs after I close the lid and the only thing I can do is shut it off improperly.  There is something great about being able to snap a laptop shut and just go without worrying that it’s somehow staying on, draining the battery, and overheating in your bag.

Oh – and I haven’t had a crash on the Mini 1000 and Windows 7 this whole time.  Awesome!

(Written on the aforementioned HP Mini 1000 using Windows Live Writer and also running Outlook 2007 which I keep flipping to in order to see a work e-mail which I should respond to but instead decided to write this entry instead)

Digg This

31 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alpha_Cluster on February 2, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Wow its awesome to hear more people using Windows 7 successfully on Netbooks since it is much nicer to use then Windows XP.

    Reply

  2. Wow.. Windows 7 on Atom CPU!
    I’m considering Sony VAIO-P series as a next my notebook PC.

    Reply

  3. Ok, looks like I’ve got to install Windows 7 too!

    Reply

  4. i got my mini note for free from starhub! i’d kinda like it. i changed the RAM to a 2 GB ram though and replaced Vista with XP. my friend told me that will improve performance significantly – it did – movies used to lag when we play it using vista, 1gb ram. now it doesn’t!

    i used it for itunes, movies, blogging, photos and i thought it wasn’t half bad. my friend had adobe photoshop installed on it and he claims it worked fine. :)

    …i kinda prefer ur black mini note to my silver though. :D

    Reply

  5. Posted by jfisk on February 12, 2009 at 2:47 am

    You said that you just shut the lid and the computer goes to sleep, but when I run windows 7 on my HP Mini the sleep option is always grayed-out. Any idea how I can enable it??

    Reply

  6. Posted by talk19 on February 12, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    @jfisk I didn’t have to adjust any of the default settings. Mine is currently set to “Balanced (recommended)” In advanced settings, it says Sleep after On Battery: 15 min, Plugged in: 30 min.
    Allow hybrid sleep is off for both on battery and plugged in.
    Lid Close action is set to sleep.

    Have you seen this article about re-enabling sleep? It might be what you’re experiencing.
    http://tinyurl.com/3gj9rr

    @chloe Hmm, on the specs for the HP Mini 1000 it didn’t mention anything about being upgradable. I thought it only supported max 1 GB of RAM. Hmm… maybe I should try upgrading it to 2!

    Reply

  7. Posted by jfisk on February 13, 2009 at 1:14 am

    thanks for the help talk19, I figured out the problem. After I downloaded the Vista video drivers from the hp website the sleep option appeared!

    Reply

  8. how did you boot off usb? please contact me!

    Reply

  9. Posted by talk19 on February 27, 2009 at 1:52 am

    @Tino – you can see a video of how to create a bootable USB key here:
    http://pingdennis.com/windows/installing-windows-7-using-a-usb-stick/

    Reply

  10. […] my original post on the HP Mini 1000 and Windows 7 Technorati Tags: Windows 7,Bluetooth,HP Mini […]

    Reply

  11. Posted by Amnon on March 19, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Aero doesn’t work on Win7 and the HP mini, does it?

    Reply

  12. Posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2009 at 8:17 am

    @Amnon Aero does work on Win7 and the HP Mini 1000. I believe Microsoft made a change so that even if you don’t have a high-powered video card, Aero is still available.

    Reply

  13. The internal Mic doesn’t work.
    The soundcard / speakers make a popping sound every few minutes.
    The Intel Video driver crashes every 15-30 minutes.
    A good number of dialog windows don’t fit on screen so some buttons like OK or Close do not show in clickable area of the screen.
    No VGA out, not even with a cable/Dongle… doesn’t exist yet.
    Otherwise I really like this laptop. Seriously

    Reply

  14. Posted by Prakash on April 2, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    if you download the vista synaptics drivers – http://www.synaptics.com/support/drivers it should get your vertical and horizontal scrolling back for your mouse!

    Reply

  15. Posted by talk19 on April 3, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    @Brandon Hmm, that’s strange. The internal mic does not work for me either. The soundcard / speakers work fine for me – the only time I get a popping sound is when I shutdown the laptop.

    The dialog windows don’t fit on the screen when the taskbar is at the bottom so I unlocked the taskbar and moved it to the left side of the screen. Amazing how much more screen real estate shows up with the bar being on the left.

    Yeah, the lack of VGA out is an inconvenience – particularly if I want to project slides for work.

    Reply

  16. Posted by talk19 on April 3, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    If you’re looking for official tech support from HP, one can contact them at:

    http://h20431.www2.hp.com/support/contactus/sg/en/phoneassistance.html

    http://welcome.hp.com/country/sg/en/contact_us.html

    Reply

  17. correction on my previous post :
    the intel video driver crashing was not windows 7 after all.but a poorly written Vista gadget

    Reply

  18. Posted by emily on April 30, 2009 at 3:45 am

    So you can RDP from the mini to another computer, correct?
    I don’t know if that’s considered “graphics intensive” but it would be a must if I were to get one.. which i really want to :)

    Reply

  19. Posted by talk19 on April 30, 2009 at 10:24 am

    @emily – With the default XP Home that comes with the HP Mini 1000, you can Remote Desktop from the Mini into another computer. However you can not remote desktop from another computer into the Mini – unless you install XP Professional, Vista, or another company’s RDP client like VNC. I have Win 7 beta (soon to upgrade to release candidate) so it supports remote desktop to / from the Mini.

    Reply

  20. Posted by emily on April 30, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Thanks for the info!

    Reply

  21. Posted by talk19 on May 16, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Just an update that the Windows 7 Release Candidate (build 7100) seems to be running nicely on my HP Mini 1000.

    Reply

  22. Posted by phillymaniac14 on June 7, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Can somebody post a link to the Windows 7 Intel video driver for the HP Mini? Please?

    Reply

  23. Posted by phillymaniac14 on June 7, 2009 at 11:38 am

    When you say the lack of VGA out is an inconvenience, do you mean to say that the video driver for Windows 7 does not support video out? The dongle is now available for purchase – http://www.shopping.hp.com/product/computer/categories/mini/1/accessories/FY828AA

    Reply

  24. hey guys. wut is the maximum memory for the hp mini? and also how to upgrade the graphics card?

    Reply

  25. Posted by talk19 on June 19, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    @phillymaniac14 – Windows 7 installed drivers by default. A link to the XP drivers can be found here. http://tinyurl.com/m4gauo – I don’t know where Windows 7 drivers for Intel are.

    @Rowell The memory is not upgradable. It comes with 1 gigabyte of memory. I don’t think you can upgrade the graphics card either.

    Reply

    • Posted by phillymaniac14 on June 20, 2009 at 4:56 am

      Yeah I realized that when I actually installed Windows 7 on the darn thing. Sorry about that.

      Reply

    • Memory is upgradable, I have 2GB purchased from Crucial. You can go to their site and let it scan, it will let you know what you need. Nothing can be done about graphics.

      Reply

      • Posted by talk19 on July 7, 2009 at 4:22 pm

        Awesome. As soon as I saw your comment (@ck) I searched the internet and you’re right – it’s upgradable. I ran out and bought a 2 GB DDR2 PC 5300 SODIMM and installed it in about 30 seconds. Video tutorial here shows the guy doing it in less than 20 seconds! http://tinyurl.com/mkqx9k

        I was confused originally because HP states that the memory isn’t upgradable. The posts on the internet say this is a ‘marketing’ restriction because of the version of XP that was included. Something about Microsoft wanting to limit the type of hardware that version of the OS could run on. I’m skeptical.

        Anyway, I have 2gb installed now and it’s awesome. Thank you CK!

  26. Posted by mcmug on September 4, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Thanks for the tips. I tried another method. As my HP mini 110 comes pre-installed with XP home, I did a clean install using daemon tool and the ISO image of the W7.

    1. Install Daemon tool (virtual CD/DVD drive)
    2. Load ISO W7 ISO image. Image can be store over network (I installed it over network).
    3. Perform clean install.

    The installation is successful :) No drivers problem.

    By far, this is the simplest if you just need to upgrade.

    Reply

  27. Posted by elaine on June 16, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    I’ve turned on the HP mini Windows 7 but is only has a screen with “Welcome to Quickweb Setup” and some words written on it. What’s its problem?

    Reply

  28. Hi, re: HP Mini 1000 & Windows 7 Talk nineteen to the dozen. %ANCHOR_TEX%. I recently also had a fault on my laptop; sony vaio not able to load the OS, fortunately got it fixed last Monday at this place in harrow, easy to reach via the London Underground train. Get off at Harrow & Wealdstone station (on bakerloo line) and its ten minutes walk to the Laptop Repair Company. Good reliable service with warranty & affordable. Hope this helps. nathandaveblythe@gmx.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

