Connect Samsung ML-1630W to wireless router

(Note – technical entry.  Skip unless you are trying to configure your Samsung ML-1630W to a wireless router)

I. Hate. Printers.

I bought brand new ink cartridges (of every color) for my Epson Stylus Photo RX-510 last week. I needed to print out a document that only needed black ink, but the stupid printer refused to work unless all the color ink cartridges had ink in them.  What a scam.  So I hauled myself to Sim Lim and bought 90 SGD worth of ink cartridges.

Today I fired up the printer because I needed to print 2 pages of a document.  In black.  IT DIDN’T WORK.  I spent hours troubleshooting it and finally gave up.  It was dead.  Time to get a new printer.

Have you ever gone to Sim Lim while suffering from a cold?  It’s not enjoyable at all. Trudging from store to store, asking about prices, trying to bargain, batting away all the flyers people are shoving at you… bah!

I bought the Samsung ML-1630W on the recommendation of a friend.  It’s a monochrome laser printer.

ML1630_medium[1]

Reviews of it on Amazon indicate that people have trouble setting it up on the network.  I did as well. I resorted to calling Samsung technical support who, while extremely friendly, were horribly wrong in their assessment.  They told me the printer was broken and that I should return it to the store.

So I rolled up my sleeves and figured out how to do it myself.

My network configuration – wireless router with WPA-Personal security, some laptops connected wirelessly and a desktop connected via wire.

To get the Samsung ML-1630W to connect wirelessly and configure the network key, you have to do the following:

  1. Connect the crossover (looks like an ethernet / RJ-45 cable) cable from the printer to a computer
  2. Disable your Firewall (Yes, it’s insecure, but you have to do it).  Disable the firewall for all network configs (i.e. home, work, public)
  3. From the CD that comes with the printer, go to the Application folder, SetIP folder, and run Setup
  4. Run SetIP – you should see something like “SEC0015xxxxx” listed under printer name
  5. Select it and click “Manual Setting” (3rd button from the left)
  6. Enter the Mac address that is already displayed for the printer when SetIP first launched
  7. Enter an IP Address that is in the valid range of your wireless network (i.e. if your network assigns IPs from 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.50, enter something like 192.168.1.25)
  8. Enter Subnet Mask and Default Gateway (you can get these by going to the Windows command prompt and typing in IPCONFIG – then look for the associated IP addresses)
  9. Hit Apply – this will force the printer to always have these IP settings – you need to do this cause the printer is too stupid to work with the Dynamic IPs assigned by the router’s DHCP server… even though it’s supposed to!!!
  10. Disconnect the crossover cable from the printer
  11. Connect the printer to your router using an ethernet cable
  12. Launch the web browser from your computer
  13. Go to http://IPAddressOfPrinter (if you assigned it 192.168.1.25 you would go to http://192.168.1.25)
  14. Web page for the printer should load
  15. Click on “Network Settings” on the top tab
  16. Click on “Wireless” on the left menu
  17. Select “Custom” from Wireless Settings and click next
  18. By “Search List” click the dropdown and find your wireless network
  19. Go to the bottom and insert your network key
  20. Click Apply
  21. Unplug the ethernet cable from your printer – it should then connect wirelessly to the router
  22. Pump your fist in the air and yell, “Take that Samsung!  Screw your technical support! I am a computer god!”  And then realize you spent hours fussing over this and feel hateful towards all big companies and their inability to provide adequate technical support.
  23. Leave a comment on this entry if it worked for you. :)

 

67 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jazz78 on June 26, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Nope, I dun have and did not buy a Samsung ML-1630W. But I feel your triumph and the hateful feeling. haha.. And hope u recover from your cold soon! ~ Take care!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nelson on June 28, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Don’t ALL printers refuse to function unless all the ink cartridges are in them, regardless of whether you are printing coloured or monochrome? That’s my experience with the printers I’ve used, be it a Canon, Samsung, Epson or what-the-fuck-brand, haha

    Reply

  3. […] Go here to read the rest: Connect Samsung ML-1630W to wireless router […]

    Reply

  4. Hey – you should get one of these:

    http://www.netgear.com/Products/PrintServers/WirelessPrintServers/WGPS606.aspx

    Oh, I’m a little late, huh?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Caramba on July 28, 2009 at 3:44 am

    Wasted 72 hours trying to reconnect a Samsung Clx-3175W printer to my wireless network and was about to give up when I discovered this, implemented the process recommended and – hey – it worked! Great post, thanks.

    Reply

  6. Thanks for the good information, it will be helpful for us consumers who has this wireless Samsung printer.

    Keep it up!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2009 at 3:26 am

    Excellent – this really helped me out. You’re a star for submitting this.

    Reply

  8. Posted by kamisama on August 19, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Yes, it works. After I did your procedures, I needed to add a new printer in the control panel, the old default printer in my setting (which was the same printer when I used it as wired) can’t be re-used even I modified the location and port setting. But that wasn’t really a problem at all. Thank you for posting.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2009 at 1:07 am

    Thanks for a simple set of instructions worked fine after I re-installed driver. Now I don’t have to have the main computer on just to print

    Reply

  10. This was SUPREMELY helpful. Thank you so much. There were a few hiccups I had along the way that I’d like to share with others. First, my network is PC & Mac. When I started by installing on the Mac, I couldn’t make it happen… when I tried to install it from the PC, things improved. I think the biggest issues I faced though were these: 1) After I connected the printer to the wireless network, I needed to restart my printer in order for the wireless to take effect. 2) I had already installed the USB software on my Mac, so I needed to completely uninstall the printer from my machine, and delete the printer profile from System Preferences. Then I reinstalled all of the software and added the printer profile again via the System Preferences panel. Then everything worked like a charm! Again, thank you SOO much for helping me get started!

    Reply

  11. You are a computer god. Me, not so much.

    I had to first set a wired IP address using SetIP (different network to wireless on my router – I chose 192.168.1.50), connect my PC to router with cable, connect router to printer with cable and only then could I view the printer’s webpage (using wired IP address 192.168.1.50).

    After telling the printer the WPA password, I ran SetIP again, changed it to a wireless IP address (192.168.178.50 for me), disconnected the cable and could then access the web page via 192.168.178.50.

    Start-> settings -> add printer, type in the wireless IP address. Then find the correct .inf file on the CD, which happened to be Printer\SPL\WINXP_2000_VISTA_32\ssa1m.inf

    Mini-win.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Tom on November 2, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Hey, that was perfect. I needed to find how to print my ipconfig though
    %comspec% /c ipconfig /all > c:\ipconfig.txt
    Just paste this in your command prompt. (it has been a long time since dos)
    The rest was easy peasy. I even renamed the printer so my wife could find it. The only problem is, My wife insists on unplugging the thing. You have to make sure the printer is turned off before you unplug it or you have to do it all over again.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Luke Daly on November 25, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Awesome guide, nice one and many thanks!

    Luke

    Reply

  14. Posted by Daan on November 28, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Thanks buddy, just bought this baby. It was weird, it was working on the LAN fine, UNTIL I started
    to change some settings (not even the network settings), then it stopped working until I manually set the IP.

    Reply

  15. Thanks Man, you are a genius.
    I tried going through your steps on my MacBook Pro, but oddly it didn’t display the info in SetIP, so I just connected to my PC running XP and it worked from there.

    Thanks again!
    Zoltan

    Reply

  16. well well well, followed your instructions and it worked perfectly. fantastic and thanks

    peter

    Reply

  17. Posted by Julian on January 6, 2010 at 3:40 am

    Thanks a lot!
    My wifi router died a few days ago and i had to set up a new one and set the printer for the new wifi network. Took me a frustrating hour till i stumbled upon your little guide here!
    Thanks!

    Reply

  18. Posted by ebeier on February 28, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    GREAT!!!

    YOU are a lightening STAR under the uncomprehendable zigzag of installation guides and tec-wizz forums!

    THANK YOU so much for publishing this easy-to-understand and actually functioning step-by-step manual to finally get my printer work with my fritzbox w-lan router.

    Thanks from Berlin, Germany

    Reply

  19. Posted by mickey on March 7, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks. You made my day!

    Reply

  20. Posted by Steve on March 29, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Well, no, actually.
    Even though I went through IPConfig – getting back a nicely printed Network Configuration Report, with the Printer IP changed, it then won’t recognise the changed IP address.
    And thus, when I connect it to the router, I can’t load the page.
    Bl**dy computers.
    Now I’ve got it connected directly through USB, so at least it does work. NOT very wireless, though. :(

    Reply

  21. Posted by daravon on April 19, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Worked for me but not right away. The software interface has changed and the SETIP functionality is embedded within the configuration program now. Additionally, once I set the IP, the printer printed a configuration page showing the IP change was successful, however I could not bring up the admin page nor ping the printers IP address successfully *UNTIL* I powered off/on the printer. Then I could ping the address and finish the installation.

    Thank you so much for posting this info here. It was infinitely helpful!!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Darren Scantlebury-Watson on May 16, 2010 at 6:33 am

    I bought this to use with my Mac wireless network. Two hours with the Samsung CD information: nothing. Two minutes with this page: up and running. Awesome – many thanks!

    Reply

  23. Posted by SKTEH on June 14, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Hello to all,

    I tried this but it didn’t work.
    The failure was that I had as chipering WPA2 for my Network. The Printer only works with WPA.
    After changing my network to WPA it worked. Thank you for your step by step guidance.

    Br
    SKTEH

    Reply

  24. Posted by Eddie on July 18, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Thank you sir! I can’t believe it was so much hassle!! But you made it work ;) Thanks man

    Reply

  25. All Done…

    T H A N K Y O U ! ! !

    I did Yell… and I did spent hours trying to set this up.

    I did try to change IP address, didn’t work. I have also changed IP adress of my wireless network to match factory printer IP (192.0.0.192), still couldn’t access admin site.

    I did relize, that F5 and should refresh page. Would be there hours ago…

    Any Way, thanks.

    Good Luck to other happy users of the wicked, superb design lovely printer.

    For others link below for latest Drivers for ML-1630 Samsung – Updated in May 2010.

    http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/office/printers-multifunction/black-and-white-laser-printers/ML-1630W/XAA/index.idx?pagetype=prd_detail&tab=support#

    Reply

  26. Thanks for this dude.

    My Wi-Fi reset itself so my printer has gone offline and I couldn’t remember doing this when I first got the printer, so was looking for the manual which is not available online (link is dead on Samsung site).

    You come as a saviour this time, as I also need to print off 2 pages and not spend a Sunday afternoon working out how to do something that should be a 2 click job. :-D

    Reply

  27. Posted by Webs on August 14, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Thanks for your support! With your support this nice printer is working now fine. I would like to add, that my printer is running only in WPA not in WPA2 mode, even if you can sellect WPA2. I tried all combinations… Awfull setup and manual of SAMSUNG! They should learn for the future… Thanks again.

    Reply

  28. Posted by Johan on August 18, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Great post! It really helped me alot. It is now working for the first time in 1 year… Thanks!

    Reply

  29. Posted by Janak on September 21, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Hey, man. Thanks. You are truely a computer god!!!!

    Jan from Germany

    Reply

  30. hey dude

    i Have to thank you i have been having troble with this printer for sometime

    i just hooked it up your way and it seems to be running perfectly

    thank you so much you are a lifesaver

    Reply

  31. Posted by Heman on October 31, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Hey ! Great and thanks !

    Is there a way to maybe open som ports etc to have the Firewall ON ? it feels pretty unsecure to just turn the Firewall OFF instead of open some needful ports etc. Something someone has been tested ?

    Reply

  32. Posted by Jacob on December 4, 2010 at 7:48 am

    This doesn’t do the job for me.
    I’ve got Windows XP and Mac OS X on this Macbook Pro.

    I end up in the SyncThru (web page for the printer) after having applied my wireless network.
    At the Link Status, it says “Not Connected”.
    Every time I plug the network cable into my printer and pc, it disconnects from the wireless router I’ve got, very annoying.

    I’ve tried some of the other solutions on this page, but I just can’t find the printer wireless.
    I’ve tried “Add Printer” under “Printers and faxes”. But I can’t find anywhere in the guide, where I can search for the wireless IP address for the printer.

    Does anyone know what I can do from here on to get the printer connected wireless to my Mac when it’s in WinXP?
    And does anyone know how to solve the problem with it disconnecting from my wireless internet every time I plug the Network cable into the printer?

    I don’t know that much about computers (that’s why I’ve got a Mac, it usually just works : P).
    A lot of the MAC address, IP address, WPA, . inf files and so on are pure nonsense to me, so if you could describe it the way talk19 did, that would be great : D

    Jacob from Denmark

    Reply

  33. Posted by Joel on January 8, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Greatest post on the web!

    Reply

  34. Posted by Lars Wahlström on February 8, 2011 at 2:07 am

    I think I love you. This post kept me from throwing my stupid f**ing Samsung 1630 out the window. Lucky thing I had a PC as well as my Mac though, otherwise the printer would have gone.

    Reply

  35. Finally, after having the printer for months, was able to get it on the wireless network. I have a Samsung CLP-315W and a Linksys WRT160N router. This worked well, but the router was called out in the configuration as b/g only. No big deal. The only other thing was that i had to go into printer properties and share the printer. Thank you for taking the time to share your knowledge of a solution, the Samsung people and documentation leave much to be desired…

    Reply

  36. Posted by Neoblue on February 28, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Jacob, same config, same problem here, have you found a solution ?

    except i’ve succed one time, the first time, then i’ve moved the printer across the room… and can’t print…

    i’ve re-move the printer near the router, plug rj45 and… unable to ave this f**king wireless blue light ON !!! can’t print, even redo and redo configs, change my wpa mode several times… it’s 2am, i’m on it since 2pm… i surrender for tonight…

    Reply

  37. Posted by Silke on March 9, 2011 at 5:20 am

    Thank you so much, it just worked great!!! I am using Samsung CLP325W and am not a novice in adding devices to my wireless network – But without a MAC address I couldn’t do it. I don’t know how you managed to find all that out, but thanks a lot.

    Reply

  38. Posted by Ben on May 25, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Thanks a lot for this awesome guide. Worked perfect for me – its quite a triumph to get the Sasmung working in a wireless network! Tried the Samsung hotline before but they have no clue how to get their printers to work.
    You saved my day – or probably a whole week ;-)
    Greetings from Germany

    Reply

  39. Posted by rapid10viennaJakob on June 16, 2011 at 5:23 am

    Thank you sooooo much!!! It works very fine for Windows. Now I hope it works on my Mac. ;-)

    Greetings from Austria

    Reply

  40. Posted by Shan on July 5, 2011 at 12:41 am

    I adapted the yell to Yeeeeha! but it still worked. Thank you very, very much. After all this time (years) the *&$#@ thing is finally wireless :’-} Samsung should try to hire you for a lot of money!
    Big fat kiss from the Netherlands

    Reply

  41. Posted by Anonymous on September 3, 2011 at 10:32 am

    THANK YOU! For non-techies this is a very very annoying printer to setup with a wireless network. After spending half a day on this I found your posting, within minutes your solution solution worked great. The only addtional item I had to configure was creating a new printer port, for some reason mine was printing to a file (who knows how that happened). To do this I went to Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > View Devices and Printers > click on See what printing > Printer from menu bar > Properties > Port > Add Port > make it TCP IP and apply and your good to go!! Waht a relief of this annoynance. Now I can enjoy the weekend, head out out and enjoy a Belgium Beer.

    Greetings from San Franicso, Mike

    Reply

  42. If someone could just Eloaborate on the APPLE set up as I dont have a PC and I am not sure what the trick is for the MAC computer, and I just bought this Refurbished and would love to get it working, Spent hours with tech no go.

    Reply

  43. Posted by Phil on June 16, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Hi, thanks for your guidance with this. You are right, the staff at Samsung are very polite and try to help, but couldn’t solve the issue!

    Reply

  44. Posted by pat on June 21, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Hi, good tips but in 7th point there is a mistake. It should be 192.168.1.10 instead of 192.168.1.100. Just minor thing ;)
    Take care

    Reply

  45. Posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    1k thanks
    Quni;-)

    Reply

  46. Posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2012 at 1:18 am

    Great explanation. Thanks for the help!

    Reply

  47. After reading the printer’s manual and a lot of other useless fiddling, I followed this instruction from step 11 onwards, and it worked fine! Thank you for the instruction!

    Reply

  48. Posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks you for help. It’s working… Well done!!!

    Reply

  49. Posted by Anonymous on May 8, 2013 at 1:55 am

    you are an actual genius. thank you!

    Reply

  50. Posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2013 at 11:51 am

    THANK YOU!!! I’ve been trying everything I could find on the internet but YOUR solution worked!! YOU ARE A COMPUTER GOD!! ;) but seriously, thank you.

    Reply

  51. Physiotherapists use the TENS technique that helps in treating pool repair valdosta
    ga, they must first consult their doctor if they develop pool
    repair valdosta ga. It will be another six weeks before entering the GOP race as the front-runner,
    he had been in competitive sports, the greater the pressure.
    Having located all these points, your partner has to now push against these acupressure points for the correct diagnosis.

    Reply

  52. Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

    Reply

  53. Hey! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone.
    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that
    might be able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions,
    please share. Many thanks!

    Reply

  54. After going oer a number of the blog articles on your site, I seriously appreciate your technique
    of blogging. I book-marked it too my bookmark site list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Please check out my web site too and tell me youhr opinion.

    Reply

  55. Thanks for a thorough detail on how to connect my Samsung ML-1630W to wireless router. At least now, I dont need to pay someone for it to be connected.

    Reply

  56. Posted by Dan Caseley on October 6, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Great post. Thanks. I had to use a straight patch cable – a crossover wouldn’t work. I also didn’t use the tool – I just went to the web interface after enabling connection sharing. I could share my method, but it was using Linux Mint 15, so probably not relevant, but equivalents exist on Mac OSX and Windows.

    Reply

  57. Posted by GRIG on April 17, 2014 at 3:10 am

    Thank for your post. Unfortunately I lost my CD for my ML-1630w and I can not run SetIP.
    Can you tell me, where I can take this program or its analogue?

    Reply

  58. This paragraph is genuinely a fastidious one it assists new
    the web visitors, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

    Reply

  59. Posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    You are indeed Godlike! Thanks for this!!

    Reply

  60. Posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2016 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks! This helped. I havent used the printer for over 2 years because i couldn’t acces it anymore.. now it works again!!

    Reply

  61. Posted by Michal on July 10, 2018 at 6:56 pm

    Maaan You save my life . Its works now!! Thank you

    Reply

  62. Posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2018 at 3:27 pm

    thx. it worked

    Reply

  63. Posted by talk19 on January 30, 2020 at 1:17 pm

    January 30, 2020 – the Samsung printer is going to where printers spend the rest of eternity. Nice knowing you and being frustrated by you.

    Reply

Leave a comment