Here, there, and well maybe not there

I’ve been out of Singapore for 20 days now.  I think this is the longest trip I’ve had in… 10 years?  Since moving to Singapore.  Up, down, all around… in these 20 days I’ve been to New York City, San Diego, Anchorage, Portland, New York (again), and am now sitting in my toasty London hotel.

This must be what it feels like on those packaged tours that lead you through a city almost every day.  It’s a whirlwind of packing, airports, security lines, airplanes, taxis, trains, and hotels.  Throw in the random restaurants that have taken over as tourist sights and all I see are variations of the same thing in different cities.  It goes to show how similar the world really is.  Or at least the yuppie traveling that I am doing…

Using Yelp and friends I have recommendations of places to eat and things to see pouring out the wazoo… in a way I feel like the day of just wandering around and stumbling on things is almost over.  Now I’m perpetually looking at Google Maps to figure out how to get to my next stop and pre-occupied with a restaurant’s Yelp tips.  Aargh!  I should break myself of this.

Leave a Reply

