Office 2013 Preview

I just noticed that Office 2013 has a "Blog Entry" template in the new version of Word. Maybe it has been there in previous versions but I’ve never seen it! So I’m giving it a whirl. Just installed the Office suite today, and I must say that it has made me "feel" like being more productive. Something as simple as typing is enhanced by how they have changed the flow of the cursor animation. It makes the words seem to glide out of the screen rather than a ka-chunk-chunk-chunk of individual letters being slammed into a keyboard. I know, sounds crazy, but it’s made me want to write more e-mails and actually enjoy using Outlook.

Speaking of Outlook, when I first installed the suite, Outlook refused to boot. I was worried since Outlook is the only application which doesn’t allow you to keep your previous version (i.e. run side-by-side Office 2010 and Office 2013). So I thought I was going to be locked out of my e-mail!

Nicely I searched online and found a solution. If you are receiving the, "Cannot start Microsoft Outlook. Cannot open the outlook window. The set of folders cannot be opened. An unexpected error has occurred," here is the solution.

Oh, this blog entry template doesn’t allow you to insert video. What a shame. The Office 2013 preview video.

Download the free preview here.

Well worth the time!

Update: There’s a weird issue with Gmail accounts connected via IMAP.  I move, delete, and otherwise change a mail message but it will respawn in my inbox.  Rather frustrating.  If I continue to do it eventually the change will stick but I’m not sure what’s going on.  Maybe it’s a timeout issue.

There is now support for Hotmail Tasks on the To-Do pane of Outlook, which is awesome!

Leave a comment