HTC HD7 screen goes black when making a call

For months I’ve been dealing with an issue of the screen going black when I answer or make a phone call on my HTC HD7.  I searched online and wasn’t able to find a solution until today.

It has to do with the proximity sensor.  It goes out of alignment and that results in the black screen during the call.  While the call is active, since the screen is essentially turned off by the proximity sensor, I can’t use the keypad or even hang up the call!

The fix is to press down hard on the area where the proximity sensor is.  It’s located at the top of the screen – pretty much where the HTC logo is.  Just press hard on that area and that should move the sensor back into place.

30 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ciro on April 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    OMG , It was that easy ? i have to say , thank you , you solved all my problems , i did what you said about pressing hard , and bang , problem solved

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2012 at 6:34 am

    It WORKS!! Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Posted by LaaMe on June 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Thank you very much! You should be given an award for this!

    Reply

  4. Thank you very much! I have searching from Internet but didn’t find out right solution until today read your post. My HD7 is fixed.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Jeff…you are a geniuos…I have been suffering from this problem for weeks now and my problem is now solved…thank you so much.

    Reply

  6. I had to press a few times to find the right spot. Mine was about 3/4″ below the printed HTC lettering. It took pressing it about 5 or 6 different times to get it to finally stay in place. Thanks so much for sharing with everyone. That just saved me having to buy a new phone.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2012 at 3:12 am

    Seems like a common fault with this phone, and so annoying. I had found previous to reading this post that hitting it hard on desk would get the screen to come back on, and obviously that was moving the sensor. I was going to dismantle the phone and look at the sensor which was how I ended up finding your post and its a great one. Thanks for the fix although I cant get it to stay fixed by pressing at least I can get it to come back on to end calls. Maybe all the deskbashing has made it too loose ;-)

    Reply

  8. Posted by Killian on August 17, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Thank you so much, I kind of didn’t expect it to work haha.
    In a dark room you can see the faint red glow of the proximity sensor, when I pushed it back into place the red glow stopped. The proximity sensor is constantly on if something is in front of it (the piece of faceplate).
    I have an HTC One X White White International

    Reply

  9. Posted by Killian on August 17, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Damn you Swype..

    Reply

  10. Posted by regina on August 26, 2012 at 1:24 am

    Thank you so much! It worked! So happy I found this solution!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Khalid on September 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    It works for me too
    Thanks for sharing the fix

    Reply

  12. Posted by alejandro on December 22, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    you are a genious!!! thanks so much!!! i could not believe that this solve my problem! :D

    Reply

  13. Posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2012 at 4:59 am

    Worked perfectly on each of my daughters (2) phones! Merry Christmas, Thank You, and Happy New Year!

    Reply

  14. Posted by ranek on January 18, 2013 at 6:57 am

    Im not sure if you all are being ironic, or mine just cant be fixed like that… Any more info on where exactly to press ?

    Reply

  15. Posted by Arslan Khaliq on March 31, 2013 at 6:36 am

    Thank You man u made my day,,,it WORKED !

    Reply

  16. Posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2013 at 4:29 am

    Not sure if it was the update I did or your suggestion, but its now working! Many thanks :)

    Reply

  17. Posted by Anonymous on May 9, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    Amazing! thanks very much I was just about to give up and upgrade my handset. Life saver!!!!

    Reply

  18. Thanks man. I didn’t expect this will do the trick.

    Reply

  19. Great thanks from Russia!!! it WORKED!

    Reply

  20. Posted by James Chekwube on September 13, 2013 at 7:12 am

    Nice. Worked for me. Thanks for this fix solution. Never knew it was this easy. Now I can sleep comfortably……. Thanks a million.

    Reply

  21. Unquestionably consider that that you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be at the internet the sinplest factor too
    take note of. I say to you, I certainly geet
    irked while other folks consider issues that they just don’t realize about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the whole thing without having
    side-effects , other people can take a signal. Will probably
    be back to get more. Thank you

    Reply

  22. Posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2013 at 10:47 pm

    As crazy as this may sound…it worked

    Reply

  23. Posted by Robert on January 10, 2014 at 12:59 am

    OMG WORKED U SAVED ME BUDDY !!! THANKS A LOT !!!

    Reply

  24. Posted by davidscottbleathman on January 15, 2014 at 6:04 am

    thank u god

    Reply

  25. […] via HTC HD7 screen goes black when making a call | Talk nineteen to the dozen. […]

    Reply

  26. Posted by davidscottbleathman on January 29, 2014 at 12:43 am

    ANOTHER GREAT FIX IS GO TO SETTINGS AND CHANGE THE BRIGHTNESS FROM AUTOMATIC TO BRIGHT. TURN AUTO BRIGHTNESS OFF !! WORKS GREAT FOR ME.

    Reply

    • Posted by davidscottbleathman on January 29, 2014 at 7:02 am

      OK THANK GOD I FIXED IT FOR GOOD!!! HAD TO OPEN THE PHONE,CANT EXPLAIN HERE BUT I WILL MAKE A VID TUTORIAL TOMORROW ITS VERY EASY TO DO. JUST NEED TO REMOVE THE BACK OF PHONE TO GET TO THE PROXIMITY SENSOR AND THEN USE A SMALL PIECE OF PAPER TO PUSH THE SENSOR FORWARD.

      Reply

  27. Posted by davidscottbleathman on January 29, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    ok guys i fixed it PERMANENTLY its to do with the back cover not pushing the sensor near enough to the screen. just watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKk_4sXqqLA – problem plagued me for months !!! now FIXED 100%.

    Reply

  28. Posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    Hi All

    All solutions worked

    Thank You very much my HD7 is working again

    Reply

Leave a Reply

