German bar

One of the memorable dining experiences for me this year was in Frankfurt, Germany.  I had a 24 hour layover on the way to New York, and since I had been to the city before I didn’t feel any pressure to see the traditional tourist sights.

I strolled around and eventually wandered into a bar by the hotel. It was 4 PM and there were three 60-some year olds having beers and chatting inside.

It was a simple place; you could choose to drink a Pilsner or… nothing else.  Which was great, sometimes we’re tired of making choices.  The food on offer was a small list of sausages.  Again, great.

There was no music, no TV.  I read on my Nook, drank my beer, and enjoyed currywurst.

Leave a Reply

