Windows 7 Release Candidate

As a Microsoft employee, it saddens me to see Windows Vista get (what I consider) unfairly slammed. I think there were mistakes during the initial release and we encouraged people to install it on hardware that quite simply wasn’t capable of providing a good experience (i.e. low system memory, slow processor).  Vista never recovered from the poor initial reception.

It’s a pleasant surprise to see so much positive news about our upcoming Windows 7.  In a nutshell, Windows 7 is “faster and easier” than Vista.  I’d encourage you to try it out for yourself.  I like it so much that I am taking the release candidate and installing it on all my machines… home desktop, netbook, and primary work laptop.

You can download and install the Windows 7 Release Candidate for free.

screenshot_pinned[1]

Since it is pre-release software you may encounter problems (I haven’t though!).  It will be available for use until March 1, 2010.

Read Windows 7 Reviews

My take on it is you get the speed of Windows XP + the reliability and enhanced features of Vista.  (Plus new features of course – it’s easy to have multiple windows nicely aligned… window manipulation was such a pain in the past).

Leave a Reply

