I went to an HP Launch @ Supperclub

There are 3 things I want to talk about in this post.

  1. HP Pavilion dv2 Entertainment Notebook PC
  2. Wearing sweaters in Singapore
  3. My continued hatred for Supperclub

Last week I went to the launch of the new “HP Pavilion dv2 Entertainment Notebook” (the name is nowhere near as user-friendly to say or type as the HP Mini 1000) that was being held by Edelman.

HP Pavilion dv2 Entertainment Notebook 3

So this is my personal opinion of the machine, based on a quick 10 minutes of watching a product manager demo it and then sneaking onto it and running the tests to generate the Windows Experience Index score.

One thing I don’t understand… why do these hardware companies (Dell, HP, Toshiba, etc.) all insist on creating software applications to “manage media?”  They pre-install the software, generally the software is crap, and a lot of it is functionality already built into Windows (and yes, I know you smartasses out there are going to say Windows is crap too… but why take up hard drive space with software applications that duplicate functionality?).

This leads to my first point – the machine comes with Windows Vista Home Premium, which means Windows Media Center software is included.  Definitely a positive.  Having Media Center makes the MediaSmart software redundant, but hey, play with it and maybe you’ll find MediaSmart a better fit.  I didn’t.

Ultimately a laptop is a piece of hardware you can put whatever software on, so let me focus on the hardware instead.

These are the main points I think are important:

– Less than 1 inch thin and weighs 1.64 kg
– AMD Athlon Neo processor
– Comes with 2 gb of memory, upgradable to 4 gb
– Supports up to a 500 gb harddrive – that’s huge for a laptop
Built-in webcam and microphone
– 12.1 inch (1280×800) glossy screen
– 802.11n WLAN and Bluetooth support

I ran the Windows Experience Index test and the HP Pavilion dv2 Entertainment Notebook PC scored a 3.1.  Most of the categories were much higher but the WEI pegs it at the lowest category, which was a 3.1 for 3D gaming graphics.

HP Pavilion dv2 Entertainment Notebook 10

The laptop starts at 1,299 SGD.  If you’re in the market for a slick-looking, thin and light laptop that will handle the bulk of tasks well (the exceptions would be heavy video editing and graphically-intensive gaming) then you should take a look at the HP Pavilion dv2 Entertainment Notebook PC.

Hmm. I think I’ll write a separate entry about the other 2 points I was going to talk about.  Joan was also at the launch.  You can see her comments about it as well as a photo of me looking like I desperately needed to use the bathroom.  And wearing the aforementioned sweater.  In that hellhole of a club that is Supperclub (and their air conditioner didn’t seem to be working properly that day).

(Written on the HP Mini 1000 while thinking about how I’m in the market for a new desktop PC and also a server to backup my stuff here at home)

Digg This

One response to this post.

  1. HP Pavilion DV6-1020US
    This is my very 1st laptop, and 2nd HP computer. Originally I was looking for another desktop, as I didn’t feel I could afford a laptop with decent specs. But I came across this while browsing. The price point was very good and I couldn’t believe how loaded it was. Very fast, love the HD briteview wide screen. Loads up in decent time, even with all the bloatware and preinstalled Norton crap. It also has a handy little remote to run HP’s media center. All in all I am very pleased with this co

    Reply

Leave a Reply

