I don’t want you anymore, Kentucky Fried Chicken

Like most bad relationships, Kentucky Fried Chicken has been jerking me around. KFC leaves me with stomachaches, feeling nauseated, and usually full of regret. But just when I’m ready to say I never want it again, I get a taste of their greasy goodness and all is forgiven.

Well not this time.

Yesterday for lunch, I ordered KFC delivery… the Drumlets Family Feast. 8 pieces of fried chicken, popcorn chicken, 4 drumlets, mashed potatoes and cole slaw. Yes, that is a lot of food for one person. I figured I could eat it over the course of the weekend.

After eating Japanese food for the past week (which I love), I must have had a craving for grease and batter.  I ate a few pieces and thought there was something slightly off about it.

Went about the rest of my day, no problems… even got some exercise in.

Ate 2 more pieces of KFC for dinner.

A couple hours later was laying on the sofa watching TV and started feeling cold. Threw a blanket on but started feeling even colder.

Eventually found myself wearing 3 shirts (long-sleeve), a winter jacket, and 2 pairs of pants… all while hunkered down under 2 blankets on the bed.

At this point I figured something was wrong. My body temperature plummeted and I felt like I was freezing.

I would have gone to the hospital but I literally could not do anything other than shiver uncontrollably.

No exaggeration – I thought I might die. My body felt like it was shutting down on itself and all I could do was shiver and feel weak.

And that pissed me off. Usually I love living alone, but the thought in my head was that I was going to die from Kentucky Fried Chicken and no one would find my body for days.

I then alternated between feeling feverish and feeling cold. It slowly subsided and this morning I am better – still a little chilly.

Thanks for ruining my weekend, KFC.

I always loved you but I don’t want you anymore. You are the worst thing to happen to me.

Digg This

13 responses to this post.

  1. that doesn’t make any sense though, they almost seem unrelated. do you think it could just be some post-travel illness?

    Reply

  2. Posted by talk19 on March 21, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    No sore throat, no runny nose – no other symptom other than this fluctuation in temperature and shivering. The only other time this has happened to me was when I had food poisoning (from century eggs) in Beijing. Plus something just felt “off” with the chicken. Like it took up residence in my gut.

    Reply

  3. Food poisoning -_- Get well soon and drink LOADS of water!

    Reply

  4. Good to know you’re good enough to blog about the experience. Get well soon!

    Sometimes I wonder how clean are those delivery bikes and those thermal bags used to hold the food.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ed on March 23, 2009 at 9:52 am

    You say that now, but in 2 months, before you realize what you are doing you will be in that queue again thinking ‘should I get the original or crispy – 4 pieces or 6? Coleslaw and whipped potato or fries (cheese fries).

    Don’t delude yourself Howie – KFC is like a virus – it never leaves you.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Jessy on March 24, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Goodness…hope you’re feeling much better now. I happened to order a KFC delivery too on that day (after months of abstinence). All was well, my only grievance was that they delivered thigh meats for my original fried chickens, although I have specifically asked for breast meats.
    After reading about your terrible experience, maybe I should embark on another period of abstinence again =P

    Reply

  7. Posted by David on May 1, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I can not eat KFC it is guaranteed to always make me sick with diarrhea and vomiting. I know other people who experience the same.

    Reply

  8. Posted by amanda on August 19, 2009 at 1:04 am

    my little sister she is 14 turning 15 in about a month she ate kfc yesterday…and now has food poisoning…….. all food poisoning syptoms like nausea vomiting,diahreaa, frequent bathroom trips….. i wouldnt advise u to eat kfc from the carrefour angrignon in montreal…. thats where she ate it……

    Reply

  9. Yesterday i ate KFC, 2 piece and after eating, i felt nausea, stomach upset, this morning, more nausea, vomitted and diarhea…..

    I don’t want to touch KFC again!!!!!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Penelope Lixx on December 22, 2009 at 5:45 am

    The same thing happens to me.

    The “bad-feels”, followed by vomitting and stomach-flu symptoms.

    Tried KFC, Popeye’s, and “Pub / Bar” chicken wings. All do it, so there must be a common ingredient.

    I’m thinking that either I’m allergic to:
    -Something in the breading,
    -A growth hormone in the chicken,
    -Or maybe there is something in meal itself, to cause such feelings.

    Maybe as a way to dicourage overeating of the stuff (because we all know North America’s obiesity problems).

    Reply

    • Posted by analisa smith on December 12, 2013 at 5:08 am

      Hi- I thought I was allergic too – probably to that ‘secret ingredient’! I’ve had KFC 5 times and been violently sick about 20 mins afterwards each time – I know: 5 times seems a lot but I couldn’t really believe it but don’t worry I’ve (finally) got the message!
      ps I can eat everything else

      Reply

  11. Posted by Deb on February 15, 2016 at 7:57 am

    Listen, I completely understand. For the past month or so, both times I’ve gotten KFC chicken I have either gotten sick in the middle of the night and vomited or had diarrhea and felt horrible the next day with no appetite whatsoever and complete fatigue all day. And, I noticed when I was eating it that it had a different or off taste. I’m beginning to wonder if they’re getting their chicken from China now since a while back it was made public knowledge that chicken is being shipped to China for processing and then back to the USA for us to eat, and who knows what kinds of chemicals or “processing” they’re doing to it. I have never had this problem with KFC before, and I’ve eaten their food since the ’70s and really liked it….but no more. Two times of becoming sick after eating their food is enough for me. Something has become very wrong with their food, and they need to be made aware of it, although who knows if they’ll even care and do anything about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

