From the 217

Earphones on, Stellastarr* streaming into my head, I am on the bus from Microsoft’s Sammamish campus to downtown Seattle.  The rest of my colleagues decided to stay near the office leaving me with no ride back to the city.  Whoops.  Blessing in disguise as I used www.soundtransit.com to quickly figure out which bus (route 217) would bring me back… and with the big wide windows I am getting a great view of the grand outdoors.

It’s surprisingly clear this evening… typical Seattle winter weather would be gray and rainy but instead I’m treated to a sunset, clear skies, evergreen trees dotting the landscape and mountains looming nearby.  Quite a contrast from Singapore’s office towers and sidewalks.

I’m flying to Los Angeles tomorrow, essentially for one dinner.  Returning to Seattle on Sunday morning so I can be back in the office on Monday.  There is a family reunion going on for an aunt’s 80th birthday in LA, and I thought the opportunity to see the extended family together was too rare to pass up.

Amusingly, I didn’t actually know about this reunion until 2 days ago.  It is probably a bad sign but my own family didn’t invite me to the reunion!  My sister saw my Facebook status about being in Seattle and she asked me if I was going to be in LA.  After I asked her why I called my dad to ask him about the reunion.  His response, “Oh, I thought someone else would tell you.”  What!!  I hope that living in Singapore hasn’t made my own family forget about me.  How tragic!

But yes, a less than 24 hour trip to Los Angeles costing me more money than airfare should.  Yikes.  I hope I at least get a good Chinese meal out of this.  I’m sure part of the meal conversation will go like this:

“Eat the shrimp, Howard.”

“Every time I see you I tell you that I am allergic to shrimp!!”

“What do you mean allergic? Just try it."

“Are you ready to take me to the hospital?”

“No, I don’t think you are allergic.”

This would be more amusing if it wasn’t a conversation repeated at every meal, every time I see my dad.  If he encountered a baby with peanut allergies he would probably smear peanut butter over them.

On a sidenote – I hate Los Angeles.

(Written on the HP Mini 1000 while on the bus looking out the window… and… get ready for this Singapore / Southeast Asia people… looking at snow and frost on the ground)

Digg This

4 responses to this post.

  1. Have a great reunion dinner!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jasmine on March 8, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    It’s a sign…that u should spend more / regular time catching up with ya folks! ;)

    Reply

  3. Posted by nilia on March 9, 2009 at 9:11 am

    At the risk of being weird, I wish I could give you a hug. Create a great reunion!

    Reply

  4. Posted by talk19 on March 10, 2009 at 10:54 am

    @nilia While usually I’m not the touchy type, after a long week, tiring weekend, and being back in the freezing chill of Seattle, a warm hug would be very nice right now…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

