Google losing its mojo?

Interesting opinion piece on Google changing from internet darling to an older more-established company. Of course this happens with every company, but what I find interesting is the speed at which Google is transforming.

I’d like to see a case study on a company that went from tech revolutionary to established and mature and then rejuvenated itself to lead the way again. Perhaps IBM could be an example of that. At Microsoft I think we are having some fitful starts in trying to change, let’s hope that is successful…

And on another note, I wish I was still in the Maldives. I got back this morning at 7 am and am feeling disoriented. Less than 24 hours ago I was floating above a coral reef looking at an array of colorful fish swim beneath my mask. Now the closest thing I have to that is the fish screensaver on my computer.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Amandaxr on August 27, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Happened to be looking at some strategy issues, and I think that it is tricky for companies that have matured to rejuvenate themselves because 1) organisational structures tend to be complex, 2) acceptance takes time, and many a time, innovations no longer become revolutionary due to time taken to get around the channels of an ‘established’ company, as compared to that of a ‘new’ kid on the block.

    So we often see products (and companies) attain saturation and gradually decline. It is even more tricky for technologies, for the lead-time needs to be drastically reduced due to external factors.

    (Sidenote: In the humble opinion of a novice, obviously.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

