Me and the fish

I wonder why it is that humans love being near water.  Ocean, lake, river, stream… property is most desired when it’s overlooking a body of water.

So here I am in the Maldives.  Sitting outside on the villa’s deck, looking down at squid, fish and other aqua beasties swimming below me.  Perhaps if I am not so lazy later I will don mask and fins and go snorkeling.  Stepping off the deck leads me immediately into a mass of coral.  Though the water is so clear here I don’t see a need to get wet when I can simply look down.

I’ve grown to enjoy beach vacations.  Primarily because there is nothing I must do.  A totally blank slate when it comes to activities for a day.  The most rigorous decision I need to make is whether I want to go eat or get back into the bed.

And the joys of wireless internet!  In the past I may have felt a little strange about bringing my laptop on an escape, but now… I admit to myself that I enjoy using the computer, I enjoy being connected, and it enhances my vacation when I can get online.

Look forward to more posts of me doing nothing in the Maldives…

2 responses to this post.

  1. upload photos while you’re at it! your phone has a camera and wifi doesn’t it?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pearl on August 26, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Maldives is really nice. Went there two years back. Every evening, I just sit at the beach and watch the sun set, the breeze and sea scent simply blew me away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

