Wii Fit will turn me into Conan the Barbarian

I bought Wii Fit today. For those of you unfamiliar with what Wii Fit is, it is a video game for the Nintendo Wii console. Not just any old game though, it comes with a balance board that you stand on and a virtual trainer that leads you through aerobic, balance, and strength exercises. What’s this, you exclaim. A game that is supposed to get one in shape? How can that be?!

Well, much to my surprise, it has an effect. I am sitting here writing this while my leg and arm muscles ache. It feels like someone pulled a Tonya Harding on my calves.

On first use, I wanted to test out the variety of exercises. Before I could jump in, the game analyzed my current fitness level. My ego was chopped to size when my Wii (note: the Wii is supposed to be a kid-friendly console!) told me: “That would mean that your body is a bit weaker than it should be.” According to its analysis, I have the “Wii Fit” balance age of a 38 year old. What! Assigning me an arbitrary number like that is sure to stoke my competitive fire. I must lower that number! What it means, I have no idea but I know it’s marking me as older than my real age.

So I proceeded to exercise. Jogged in place, rocked my hips for the hula hoop, learned a couple deep breathing yoga positions, did push-ups, twists, leg lunges… went down a ski jump, walked a tightrope… enough to accumulate 35 minutes’ worth of physical activity. I failed miserably on every exercise that focused on balance. Hm.

I am looking forward to playing it tomorrow. My video game console is going to whip me into shape!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Josh on May 24, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Hello, at what price did you get the Wii Fit for? Am keen to know my fitness age too!

    Reply

  2. Posted by talk19 on May 24, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I got it for 179 SGD from Gamers Hub on the 5th floor at Sim Lim.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Josh on May 25, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Thanks!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Milene on May 25, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    HAHAH! Howard, your Wii Fit experience cracked me up man. Are u sure the Wii is enough exercise for you?

    Reply

  5. Posted by chasmang on May 26, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Haha, love the title!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Niniane on May 29, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Hey, so how is it now that you’ve had it for a while? Are you still using it or is it collecting dust? Are you in super shape now? Maybe I should get one! I will base this decision solely on your reply.

    Reply

  7. Posted by talk19 on May 29, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I’m still using it – basically every other day I’ve used it for at least 30 minutes. I don’t think I’m in super shape yet, but it is helping. I feel more sore after doing the exercises in Wii Fit than when I go to the gym. (Note – this may be because when I go to the gym I don’t do the exercises properly). The combination of the various aerobic, strength, and balance exercises make it entertaining enough to hit the 30 minute mark via “bite-size” chunks of exercises. 2 minutes here, 3 minutes there, and then all of a sudden you realize you’re sweating. I would highly recommend Wii Fit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

