Laptop

I am in the market for a new laptop.

Any recommendations? I’ve been thinking about the Toshiba R500, the Dell XPS M1530, and the MacBook Pro (15 inch).

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alfredtwo on March 27, 2008 at 1:57 am

    I can’t imagine buying a Toshiba. I’ve had bad luck with everyone I’ve ever had. I have a Lenovo T61 right now and I love it though.

    Reply

  2. Posted by talk19 on March 27, 2008 at 2:15 am

    I was thinking about the Lenovo X300 (supposed to give the Macbook Air a run for its money in terms of slimness, and actually has more ports on it).

    It’s interesting you’ve had bad experiences with Toshiba. My past 2 laptops were a Toshiba Tecra M5 (my current one) and then the Toshiba Portege M200 (Tablet PC). Both have served me relatively well though I did have to get the hard drive replaced on the M5. I’ll check out the Lenovo T61!

    Reply

  3. Posted by alfredtwo on March 27, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I have had to have the screen replaced on every Toshiba (about 5 of them) that I have ever had. It wasn’t me either – honest. And I lost count of the times my M400 has been in the shop.

    Reply

  4. +1 for Tosh. Bad experience all the time.

    In fact, I was considering R500 for it’s smallness to replace my HP nc2400. But after seeing the real laptop first hand, I definitely wont take it. Even though they claim the LCD part is magnesium, it just flexes too much.

    For X300 — haven’t seen the real thing yet, so can’t comment. But the spec and size are perfect.

    XPS, try the 1330 instead for 13″? Note that the Backlit LCD is stronger but thicker than R500. But all in all, XPS is a good design/performance combo.

    Also, take a look at HP Compaq 2710p for 12″ wide tablet. I like it but the price is too high. It’s going without optical, good or bad for ultralight is your choice. Also, only ULV processor in it.

    I was looking for ultraportable tablet a month back. But dropped everything and bought Sony PSP instead. Hahaha…

    Reply

  5. Posted by JJoAnNe on March 29, 2008 at 12:39 am

    haha up to you howie!whatever that suits you well

    Reply

  6. Posted by june on March 29, 2008 at 1:35 am

    the macbook pro has a tendency to not wake up after it’s gone to ‘sleep’ and heat up a fair bit. other wise it’s quite a delight to use.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Christina on April 10, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Sony Vaio TZ. Its reliable, compact, has all pre-requisite features and perfect for travel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

