Happy July 4!

Happy 4th of July to my fellow Americans abroad and back home.

I know I’m a little late with my greeting, but when you live outside the US, the 4th of July is not quite as “in your face” as it is in America.

To celebrate, let’s see how you do on a U.S. citizenship test.

I am feeling proud – I scored 90%.

“85-100%: Welcome to the United States! (And, truth be told, you know more about this great land than most Americans.)”

America does do some great things. Fast food, for example. I went to Burger King today here in Singapore and waited about 10 minutes before I got to place my order (only 2 people in front of me in the queue) and collect my food. In America, the fast food nation, that would have taken about a minute.

Yes… 3 cheers for patriotism, land of the free, home of the brave. And the efficiency to keep the fast food churning.

Happy 4th of July. I hope if you’re in the US you enjoyed a barbecue, some fireworks, a Budweiser, and the company of friends.

Leave a Reply

