Analyzing the Facebook development platform

Great entry analyzing the Facebook development platform.

For those of you unfamiliar with Facebook, it allows members to select “Applications” to include on their profile.  These applications are created by 3rd parties and have access to all the data (I think) that Facebook collects about its users.  So these applications can do things based on interactions between friends, profile updates, geography, etc.

Out of Friendster, Orkut, MySpace, and Facebook, I think Facebook has all the features that blow the other guys out of the water.  I also don’t see Twitter lasting very long against Facebook – as Facebook has a similar “status” feature which could be quickly enhanced with Twitter-like mobile functionality.

I avoided Facebook as long as I could, but last Friday I finally signed up and have been amazed by all the features.  Among my friends it’s sweeping through like wildfire.

Leave a Reply

