Archive for October 10th, 2013

Birthday

Oh ye of little updates. That ye being me. I’m not sure why I don’t blog much anymore. Can one outgrow blogging? I don’t think that’s it. Sure, like everyone I’m busy, but that’s also not it. Just something that has fallen by the wayside, which I regret. I use phone apps like Day One to record some thoughts down but they come in microbursts and are written primarily in the elevator between the floor I live on and the ground. Not a time for insight.

Anyway, another birthday has come and is about to be gone. I was thinking about my lack of interest in birthdays (mine or other people’s). Perhaps it’s a selfish way of thinking but instead of putting “me first” on only my birthday, I want to do that every day of the year! So the birthday becomes pointless.

What do I mean by “me first?” Ultimately it’s about owning my time. Being engaged in everything I do because it’s what I want to be doing at that moment. From the unproductive to the super-productive. It doesn’t mean I have to like what I’m doing; I just need there to be a point.

With that in mind, I’m off to play video games.

That reminds me of a chat I had today about growing old and being an adult.  There’s no such thing as an adult. We’re all just kids that become easily tired.